EV charging station franchise models in India
Every large network wants sites. Their partner pages describe two arrangements: you invest and they operate (franchise owned, company operated), or you supply the site and they pay rent or a share of revenue.
| Network | Entry, as stated on the operator's page | Model |
|---|---|---|
| Statiq | "starting from ₹30 Lakh"; station configurations of 2–20 parking bays | Franchise Owned, Company Operated: you invest in the hardware, Statiq operates |
| ChargeZone | "Fast Charging Stations Starting Investment: ₹25 Lakhs" (30/60 kW) | Franchise; ChargeZone runs software, payments and support |
| Tata Power EZ Charge, Jio-bp pulse, Zeon, GLIDA | Not stated on public pages | Site partnership enquiries by form; terms on request |
| IOCL, BPCL, HPCL | Dealer schemes for existing outlets | Charger installed at the retail outlet under the oil company's network |
Revenue-share percentages are not published by any network as of September 2026. Ask for: who pays the electricity bill, who owns the DISCOM connection, the minimum lease term, and what happens to the hardware if the contract ends.
Send your site details and ChargeDekho passes them to operators active in your city.
Published revenue-share figures
Every figure below is a published number with its source; none of the large private networks publishes one, so these are government tenders, PSU deals and smaller operators. All medium confidence: they describe one deal or one page, not a rate card.
| Who | Arrangement | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| EESL (Energy Efficiency Services Ltd, PSU) NDMC (landowner) gets Rs 1/kWh dispensed as revenue share + land rental; EESL operates | site-host / PPP on municipal land (NDMC) | Rs 1 per kWh | The Times of India (Vibha Sharma) · 2023-05-25 "EESL is paying Rs 1 per KWH to NDMC against per unit of electricity consumed at public charging stations, as revenue sharing and land rent…" |
| EESL (Energy Efficiency Services Ltd, PSU) NDMC 60%, EESL 40% of the shared (co-branding/advertising) revenue | site-host / PPP on municipal land (NDMC) - co-branding/advertising revenue | 60:40 | The Times of India (Vibha Sharma) · 2023-05-25 "The revenue will be shared between the NDMC and EESL in the ratio of 60:40, respectively" |
| HLL Infra Tech Services, REIL, KELTRON (PSU CPOs) NDMC gets Rs 1/unit as land rental; PSUs pay electricity bill separately and bear all capex/O&M | site-host / PPP on municipal land (NDMC, 350 charging points) | Rs 1 per unit | Moneycontrol (PTI) · 2023-09-27 "All PSUs shall give as land rental of Rs.1 per unit against energy consumption for charging of e-vehicle to NDMC, apart from the electrici…" |
| HLL Infra Tech Services, REIL, KELTRON (PSU CPOs) NDMC 60%, PSUs 40% of outdoor-advertising revenue at charging stations | site-host / PPP on municipal land (NDMC) - advertising revenue | 60% / 40% | Moneycontrol (PTI) · 2023-09-27 "Additional revenue shall be generated through outdoor advertisement on public EV charging stations, which will be shared between NDMC and …" |
| CESL (Convergence Energy Services Ltd, EESL subsidiary) DTC (landowner) gets Rs 1/kWh dispensed monthly; CESL funds, installs, operates | site-host / land licence (DTC depots & terminals, 7 locations) | Rs 1.00 per kWh (+Rs 2,000/month per extra ECS beyond 3) | The New Indian Express (Express News Service) · 2021-09-08 "The charges for usage of location will be paid by CESL to DTC every month at the rate of Rs. 1.00 per kWh of energy dispensed. If the spac…" |
| CESL (Convergence Energy Services Ltd, EESL subsidiary) DTC gets Re 1/kWh dispensed monthly; CESL bears capex and O&M | site-host / land licence (Delhi Transport Dept cluster bus depots, 14 locations) | one rupee per kWh (+Rs 2,000 per ECS per month beyond 3 ECS) | Business Standard (PTI) · 2022-01-20 "The charges for usage of location will be paid by CESL to Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) every month at the rate of one rupee per kWh o…" |
| Jio-bp pulse (Reliance BP Mobility Ltd) Land-owning agency gets Rs 2.19/unit (winning bid above Rs 1/unit floor); Jio-bp operates, 10-year lease | site-host / PPP on government land (BESCOM tender, 225 stations Bengaluru) | Rs 2.19 per unit | Bangalore Mirror (Melvin Mathew) · 2024-02-19 "Reliance will call the bid for Rs 2.19 per unit," said a senior BESCOM official. Most of these charging stations would come in government …" |
| Unnamed private contractor (Pune Municipal Corporation e-charging project) PMC gets 50% of net profit after all expenses; contractor gets 50% | PPP on municipal land (PMC, 83 locations) | 50% of net profit | Pune Pulse · 2024-01-16 "The Municipal Corporation will get 50 per cent of the net profit excluding all expenses" |
| Ludhiana MC tender - PSU CPO (not yet selected) MC gets >= Re 1/kWh dispensed + 50% of ad revenue; concessionaire keeps rest | PPP on municipal land (Ludhiana MC, 50 stations, 10 years) | minimum Re 1 per kWh; advertising 50-50; Rs 2,000/month per extra ECS | ETAuto / TIMESOFINDIA.COM (Nidhi Bhardwaj) · 2026-02-26 "The MC will receive a minimum of a rupee for each kilowatt-hour (kWh) of energy dispensed." |
| Charzer (Kirana Charzer) Host (shop owner) 80% of each transaction; Charzer 20% | site-host (kirana/shop-hosted charger) | 20% company / 80% host | The Hans India (Aksheev Thakur) · 2020-10-11 "we take 20% of every transaction that happens. 80% of the revenue is shared with the host." |
| Charzer (Kirana Charzer) Outlet hosting the charger gets 80% of payment; Charzer keeps the rest | site-host (kirana/shop-hosted charger) | 80% to outlet | Techcircle (Shweta Sharma) · 2021-04-05 "While 80% of the payment goes to the outlets that have the charging stations, the rest is taken by the startup." |
| chargeMOD chargeMOD 10-15% of transaction value; station owner/franchisee the remainder | franchise / managed (client-owned devices, CPO-operated) | 10% to 15% to chargeMOD; 90% to franchise owner (as stated) | Electronics For You Business (interview, Raman M., chargeMOD · 2024-11-13 "When we manage everything, we receive a small percentage of the total transaction, typically 10% to 15%. The remaining 90% of the revenue …" |
| EarthtronEV Site partner (dhaba/outlet) receives ~15-25% of profits; EarthtronEV operates | site-host (dhabas/food outlets) / franchise | approx. 15% to 25% of profits | Electronics For You Business (interview, Ashish Deswal, foun · 2024-03-28 "We present them with a revenue-sharing model, wherein we distribute a portion of the profits (approx.15% to 25%)." |
| Bolt.Earth Bolt.Earth takes 15% (incl. tax) of charger earnings; host keeps the rest | host-owned charger on CPO platform (Basic plan, up to 3 chargers) | 15% commission | Bolt.Earth (company plans page; not news) · effective 2026-04-01 (as stated on page) "15% commission (incl. of tax) on your charger earnings." |
| Bolt.Earth Bolt.Earth takes 20% (incl. tax) of charger earnings; host keeps the rest | host-owned charger on CPO platform (Premium plan, more than 3 chargers) | 20% commission | Bolt.Earth (company plans page; not news) · effective 2026-04-01 (as stated on page) "20% commission (incl. of tax) on your charger earnings." |
| Bolt.Earth Bolt.Earth takes 2.5% (incl. tax) of charger earnings plus subscription; host keeps the rest | host-owned charger on CPO platform (Enterprise plan) | 2.5% commission + annual software subscription | Bolt.Earth (company plans page; not news) · effective 2026-04-01 (as stated on page) "Annual software subscription - 2.5% commission (incl. of tax) on your charger earnings." |
| Industry benchmark - Pulse Energy analysis (not a specific CPO) Landowner gets 20% of revenue in lieu of rent; CPO keeps 80% | site-host (15A AC chargers) | 20% of revenue to landowner | EVreporter (contributed by Pulse Energy, Devang Mistry) · 2023-02-17 "For 15 Amp AC charger land rentals – the usual arrangement is a revenue share with 20% of revenue going to the land owner." |
| Policy benchmark - MoP EV Charging Guidelines 2024 (all CPOs on government/publi Land-owning agency gets Rs 1/kWh, paid quarterly | site-host / revenue-sharing on government land | Rs 1/kWh (floor Rs 1/kWh for private land via bidding) | Mercom India (Tina Freese) · 2024-09-20 "This will work on a revenue-sharing model. The agency owning the land will receive ₹1/kWh (~$0.012 )of electricity used for charging at th…" |
| Battery Smart (battery swapping) Station partner runs swap station on revenue share, earns Rs 5-10k/month net | franchise / swap-station partner (local shops) | % not disclosed; partner earns Rs 5,000-10,000 per month after expenses | YourStory (Trisha Medhi) · 2021-03-29 "Partners work on a revenue share model with Battery Smart, and transact using the same app. Partners earn Rs 5,000-10,000 per month after …" |
Quick answers
What is the minimum investment for an EV charging franchise?
₹25 lakh at ChargeZone and ₹30 lakh at Statiq for a DC fast station, per their own pages in September 2026. A single AC point at a hotel or society is a different product, under ₹1 lakh installed.
Do I need my own electricity connection?
Under a franchise you usually hold the DISCOM connection at the EV tariff; under a land lease the operator does. Check the contract.